Presentation day for 2019 … held 15th March 2020

3 April 2020 News, Other

On the 15th March 2020, Heather and Terry generously hosted the clubs Annual Presentation Day for 2019. Thank you also to Grace the Australian Olympic team doctor who was our guest presenter.

There were as usual many, many, worthy recipients of awards. And numerous that have been held year upon year. Due to the developing COVID-19 virus we had to be a little creative with our hand shaking, hence butt shakes became popular making for some interesting photos.

For the first time, this year the club introduced a new award, having introduced a new E500 program to the club. The E500 program was designed by Campbelltown Masters to help individuals who were unable, for whatever reason, to compete in the Masters E1000 aerobic program. It provided a much needed goal for some, to keep swimming.

I have been in the club for 38 years, and if the club hadn't created and introduced the E500 program I would have given up swimming
Helga Duncan
Life member

And the 2019 Awards Are...

James Pelosa – 51 weeks

Carnival Attendance
Lindsay Risk – 68 points

Club Spirit
Suzie Haddad

Jenni Goodhew

James Pelosa

Total Points
James Pelosa

E1000 Endurance
Max Points (1005) and Max Swims (62)

Suzie Haddad
Greg Jacques
Lesley Keogh
Russell McLeod
James Pelosa
Heather Rouen
Owen Sinden

E500 Endurance
Max Points (708) and Max Swims (56)

Helga Duncan


One point is awarded for each week of attendance at our Sunday swims, with an obvious maximum of 52 points for 52 weeks. In 2019:

  • 1st Jim Pelosa with 51 (prev year 49)
  • 2nd Russell Mcleod with 50 (prev year 46)
  • 3rd Lindsay Risk with 47 (prev year 47)

Hot on their heals was Suzie Haddad with 46 points and close runners up were Sharon Carpenter, Jenni Goodhew and Greg Jacques all tied with 45 points

attendance - Lindsay Jim Russell

Carnival Attendance

We had ten members regularly going to carnivals. This was our biggest turnout yet for the club. As a result the club often achieved high places in the overall point scores at carnivals.

Those regular members included Heather (6 carnivals), Brian (8 carnivals), Victor (9 carnivals), Jenni (10 carnivals), Annie (10 carnivals), Sharon (12 carnivals) and Owen (12 carnivals).

  • 1st place attending 15 carnivals, with 68 points, for the 2nd time was Lindsay
  • 2nd place attending 16 carnivals with 64 points was Suzie
  • 3rd place attending 14 carnivals with 52 points was Russell
Carnival Attendance 2019

Club Spirit

This is voted upon by all members attending the AGM.

It is for the person deemed to have made a big commitment to the club throughout the year in many areas.

The award goes to someone who has brought a sense of excitement and enthusiasm to the club. If you attended a carnival you’ll be well aware of this person, yelling out encouragement and support as members do battle in the pool. At club swims this person is an integral part to the smooth functioning of the day. This person is none other than Suzie Haddad.

club spirit award 2019 Suzie

Encouragement/Courage Award

This is the 7th year of awarding this trophy and plaque. It is awarded only if a swimmer meets certain criteria.

The criteria for the award is:

  • A swimmer who has successfully attempted to swim distances of a stroke beyond what they could do at the start of the season.
    AND /OR
  • A swimmer who has successfully attempted to swim another stroke that they initially couldn’t do and over several distances.
  • Could also apply to someone who through misadventure or illness or a long absence from swimming is attempting to regain their swimming expertise.

It is voted upon by approximately 3 to 5 senior committee club members.

In 2019 the committee came up with 5 worthy applicants and examined the performances of each. Among them were Sharon Carpenter Heather Buck, Brian Sutton and Janette Towell. Each managed to extend their distance or time swum, some up to an hour. Each tackled multiple strokes including butterfly.

However, the committee settled on a member who made anything over 50m look like an aerobic swim at the start, but eventually managed a 3/4 hr swim. This member tried freestyle, backstroke and breastroke successfully, even though hampered by a medical condition at times. The winner is known by a unique diving style, the Encouragement Award for 2019 goes to Jenni Goodhew.

Jenni all smiles at Woy Woy 2019

E1000 Endurance

There are 62 swims involved in the E1000. They include 5 x 400s of Free, Back, Breast, Fly and IM, also 5 x 800s in those strokes. Plus 1500m, half hour, three quarter hour and one hour each of Free, Back and Breast

For each of the distances and strokes there are times/distances assigned for each gender and age group resulting in the allocation of points for each swim completed. So it is possible to complete all 62 swims but not necessarily achieve the maximum 1005 points.

The points earned from this program goes towards the National Endurance Trophy each year. An honourable mention goes to Lindsay with 985, Hans with 956, also to Kyle, Diane, Helga, Laura and Alexandra who scored high points for the club.

E1000 Max 62 swims, Max 1005 points
Suzie Haddad (1st time)
Greg Jacques (1st time)
Lesley Keogh (3rd time)
Heather Rouen (13th time)
Owen Sinden (13th time)
Russell McLeod (15th time)
Jim Pelosa (16th time, the new top score)

E1000 Max 62 swims
Lindsay Risk
Hans Preiss
Kyle O’Brien
Diane Baker
Alexandra Rouen

E500 Endurance

2019 was the inaugural year for the E500 Endurance award. The E500 was a new initiative of Campbelltown Masters to try and provide a competition and goals for those unable to compete in the Masters E1000 aerobic program. It has proven a huge success with many members chooing to take up the challenge.

There are 56 swims involved. They include 8 x 200s, 8 x 400s and 8 x 800s of two different form strokes. Plus 1500m, half hour, three quarter hour and one hour each of the 2 chosen strokes. It is up to the individual to choose their preferred strokes from Freestyle, Backstroke and Breaststroke. Similar to the E1000 program, a set of times/distances were assigned for each gender and age group resulting in the allocation of points for each swim completed. A maximum of 708 points is possible.

In addition the club also introduced an assisted category, so that people who are unable to swim without the aid of fins or snorkel etc can still be included in the program.

E500 Max 56 swims, Max 708 points
Helga Duncan

E500 Max 56 swims
Kerry Tier
Linda Beveridge
Janette Towell
Lesley Thompson

E500 Max 56 swims, assisted
Mark Thompson

High point scorers were Kerry Tier, Jim Willis, Linda Beveridge, Janette Towell, Lesley Thompson, Kay Hough and Sharon Carpenter.

E500 2019 Helga


This award goes to the person accumulating the most points by establishing and improving their times in club swims.

  • 1st Jim Pelosa with 95 points (for the 12th time)
  • 2nd Sharon Carpenter with 69 points
  • 2nd Suzie Haddad with 69 points

Narrowly missing out was Laura Lawrence and Greg Jacques with 68 points, technically in 3rd place.

Overall Total Points Score

This award encompasses all of the points accumulated throughout the year. Points for club attendances, carnival attendances, number of swims, improving and winning handicap races.

  • 1st with 390 points Jim Pelosa (for the 6th time)
  • 2nd with 375 points Sharon Carpenter
  • 3rd with 363 points Suzie Haddad